Return to the home page
Member Churches
Master of Theo. Studies
Youth, Family Life and Gender Affairs
Photo Galleries
Assembly 2005
Ecumenism in Action
PRESS ROOM > Releases
Back to Press Releases main page > December 2005

The Caribbean Conference of Churches meet in St Lucia

The first meeting of the newly-elected Continuation Committee (Board of Directors) of the Caribbean Conference of Churches ( CCC ) was from December 1 - 5, 2005 at Villa Santa Maria, Mount of Prayer, Coubaril , St. Lucia.

These new CCC Board Members were elected at the 7 th General Assembly of the CCC held in Panama City , Republic of Panama in June 2005. Those elected are representative of the 34 member churches of the region.

Constitutionally, the Committee meets twice a year, during the five year term between assemblies to deliberate upon the ongoing operations of the organization (CCC).

The Continuation Committee is also the CCC's governing body in between assemblies. The members present included the organisation's three presidents Reverend Dr. Lesley Anderson (Chair of the Praesidium), Dr. Oluwakemi Linda Banks and The Most Reverend Donald J. Reece.

This was the first time in the history of the CCC that sitting members and alternate members were brought together for the inaugural meeting of the Continuation Committee.

It was also the first time that a member church has hosted a meeting of the Continuation Committee. The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Castries, under the leadership of Archbishop Kelvin Felix, with support from the St. Lucia Christian Council led by Fr. Michel Francis was instrumental in organising the meeting.

Fr. Francis is also a Continuation Committee Member. This act of hospitality was praised highly by the General Secretary of the CCC, Mr. Gerard Granado, in his formal address to the Continuation Committee.

In his address, the General Secretary also offered condolences to Fr. Michel Francis and his family on the death of Fr. Michel's mother at whose funeral the Continuation Committee was represented by President - Bishop Donald Reece - and other members.

It seemed to be a time of "firsts" as it was also the premier occasion for an orientation workshop on, "The Role and Responsibility of a Board". This was facilitated by Dr. Andre Vincent Henry, Management Consultant.

There was a wonderful spirit of camaraderie at the meeting, the latter having concluded on Sunday 4 th December at 5 p.m. shortly after an Ecumenical Service, hosted by the St. Lucia Christian Council at Our Lady of Fatima Roman Catholic Church, La Clery.

The public was invited to this service at which the Rev. Dr. George Mulrain was the preacher. Rev. Mulrain, a member of the Continuation Committee, is the Connexional President of the Methodist Church in the Caribbean and the Americas (MCCA).

Left to right- BACK ROW: Mr. Gerard Granado, CCC General Secretary; Dr. Oluwakemi Linda Banks, CCC President; The Most Reverend Donald J. Reece, CCC President; Followed by the other Continuation Committee Members: Ms. Veronique Bonneton, Fr. John Mac Lellan, Rev. Dr. George Mulrain, Mr. Anthony Parke.

MIDDLE ROW: Rev. Elvis Elahie, Ms. Jannelle Wehner, Dr. Vernie Clarice Barnes, Rev. Karl B. Johnson, Ms. Leandra Lewis, Rev. Dr. Marcus Lashley.

FRONT ROW: Lic. Rhode Gloria Gonzalez, Rev. Margarita Santana, Rev. Dr. Richmond Nelson, Dr. Anna Perkins, Mrs. Clara Walters, rev. Humberto Fuentes.

MISSING: Rev. Dr. Lesley Anderson, CCC President and Ms. Ingrid Uden- Nortan.

Caribbean Conference of Churches ©2005 - 2008. Contact Us. Optimised for IE4+